Control your phone without touching it…

Information on where Prox is headed

Hello all. I just wanted to give you a quick update on what I’m doing right now. I am still trying to figure out shortcut launching. Apparently, getting shortcuts is private to launcher apps (like LauncherPro or ADW) so I have to figure out a way to get them and store them for later use. I have seen apps that have pulled this off so I will conquer, I just don’t know when :/

I have figured out back button emulation. It definitely requires root access and I was wondering what you guys thought about this. You could still use Prox exactly how you’re using it now except you won’t be able to use the back button feature. I want to make Prox as fully featured as possible so I want to add everything I can. Do you think this is a good idea? I mean, I know some of you would really enjoy it, but for those of you that are not rooted, I feel like I need to concentrate more on what you can do. Gimme some feedback :)

I am also working on updating the UI. I think it kind of looks retro chic, but I don’t want it to look like a beginner application, even though it’s definitely my first foray into Android. I am slowly learning graphics (GIMP, Photoshop, etc.), but as I said, I am a noob in this department. Just wanted to let you know that it will definitely look better in the future…

Also, I want to remind everyone to comment in the requests page and tell me what you want. I have already filled most of the requests there so I definitely listen.

Anyways, just an informational post. Have a great week!

2 responses

  1. Nick

    Hey Lancer thank you for the great app. One feature that would be great would be able to hide the prox notification in the notification tray. I saw you respond to previous comment regarding this and how it wasn’t possible, but another app, widgetlocker seems to be able to do just that without being killed.
    Cheers,
    Nick

    June 8, 2011 at 11:58 am

    • Lancer

      Widget locker is not a service. It listens to broadcasts and is only in use when the screen comes back on, therefore, it doesn’t get killed. If it shows up as a service, it’s just doing something in the background for a minute and then it stops. Prox requires this service to be running to do anything and there is no way to make it run in the foreground without a notification. I could give you the option to disable it, but it is really likely to get killed without you ever knowing. Sorry :/

      June 8, 2011 at 10:44 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.